Announcing NoHo-Bowery Stakeholders Inc.

On January 30th, 2012 more than 50 property owners, business, institutional and residential lessee resident representatives of NoHo and the east side of the Bowery gathered to approve a Board of Directors, Board of Advisors and initial By-Laws for the newly formed nonprofit NoHo-Bowery Stakeholders Inc. (NBS) to help manage and represent their neighborhood and interests in a “community benefit district” framework.

The leadership boasts an unusually inclusive and engaged list of stakeholders well represented of  NoHo-Bowery constituencies:

Board of Directors

Richard Born, Board Chair: Property Owner, Business Owner, The Bowery Hotel, Hotelier
Rachel Mauro, Board Secretary:  Resident, Property Owner, Art Dealer
James Stehli, Board Treasurer:  Resident,  Property Owner, President Co-Op, Financial Service
Donald Capoccia – Property Owner, Developer, Nonprofit Board Member LaMama
Andrew Fisher – Property Owner, Business Owner, Astor Wine & Spirits and The Astor Center
Zella Jones, President & Chief Operating Officer:  Resident, founder

 Board of Advisors 

André Balazs, Property Owner, Business Owner, The Standard, East Village and André  Balazs Properties
Anthony Borelli, Property Owner, Business Owner- representing Edison Properties
Charle Cafiero, Resident, Business Owner, CJC Strategies, Traffic & Transportation Advisor
Patricia Field, Resident, Business Owner, Patricia Field, (retail)
Pi Gardiner, Nonprofit Institution Exec Dir.,Merchants House Museum
Eric Goode, Resident, Business Owner, Property Owner, Restaurateur, The B Bar and Lafayette House Hotel
Kathy Grayson, Business Owner,ArtGallery Owner, The Hole Gallery
Rob Houtenbous, Resident, Property Owner, Condominium President
Alicia Hurley, Ph.D., Institution Executive (Community and Government Affairs), Property Owner representing New YorkUniversity
Elissa & Joe Iberti, Resident, Property Owner, Film and Broadcast Industry
Matt Kleigman, Business Owner, Restaurateur, The Smile
Joyce Kuh –Nonprofit-Educational Institution, Director of Development, representing Grace ChurchSchool
Christopher Prokop – Property Owner, DDG Properties, Condominium President
Dan Rafalin, Business Owner, Principal, AvroKO Restaurant Group, Saxon & Parole
Michael Sabatino, Resident, Property Owner, Co-Op President, Financial Services
Ian Schrager – Resident, Property Owner, Hotelier, Co-Op President
Brett Traussi, Chief Operating Officer, Dinex Group, Restaurateur, DBGB
Adrian van Schie, Resident, Property Owner, Co-Op President
Jon Venison, Resident, Business Owner Inside Out Sports & Entertainment, Property Owner, Co-Op President
George Wachtel, Esq., Resident, Property Owner, Attorney

Having rejected the business improvement district model, NBS, whose initial voluntary paid membership represents well over 250 stakeholders, will now regularly review and engage in the broad array of hearings, applications and forums affecting the area.

Any resident, property owner, merchant/business owner, institution in the area bounded by Astor Place at the north, the east side of Bowery on the East, the north side of Houston on the south or the east side of Lafayette St. on the west. as well as anyone also served by the NoHo BID is welcomed to join.  You can make inquiries here, or go directly to the membership reservation form.

, , , , , , , , , , , ,